

## Margaret A. Edwards Awards



1988-2024 The Margaret A. Edwards Award honors an author,

as well as a specific body of his or her work,

for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

- 2024: **Neal Shusterman** for *The Arc of a Scythe: Scythe, Thunderhead and The Toll, Bruiser, Challenger Deep, Everlost, Full Tilt, The Schwa Was Here,* and *Unwind*
- 2023: Jason Reynolds for Long Way Down, Ghost, All American Boys, and When I Was the Greatest
- 2022: A.S. King for SW/TCH, Still Life with Tornado, Ask the Passengers, Glory O'Brien's History of the Future, and Please Ignore Vera Dietz
- 2021: Kekla Magoon for X: A Novel, How It Went Down, The Rock and the River, Fire In the Streets
- 2020: **Steve Sheinkin** for Bomb: The Race to Build-and Steal-the World's Most Dangerous Weapon, The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights, The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism, and Treachery, and Lincoln's Grave Robbers
- 2019: **M.T. Anderson** for Feed, The Astonishing Life of Octavia Nothing Traitor to the Nation Volume 1: The Pox Party and The Astonishing Life of Octavia Nothing Traitor to the Nation Volume 2: The Kingdom of Waves
- 2018: Angela Johnson for Toning the Sweep, Heaven, Looking for Red, The First Part Last, Bird, and Sweet Hereafter
- 2017: Sarah Dessen for Dreamland, Keeping the Moon, Just Listen, the Truth about Forever, Along for the Ride, What Happened to Goodbye?, and This Lullaby
- 2016: **David Levithan** for *The Realm of Possibility*, *Boy Meets Boy*, *Love is the Higher Law*, *How They Met and Other Stories*, *Wide Awake* and *Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist*
- 2015: Sharon Draper for Tears of a Tiger, Forged by Fire, Darkness before Dawn, The Battle of Jericho, November Blues and Copper Sun
- 2014: Markus Zusak for The Book Thief, Fighting Ruben Wolfe, Getting the Girl, and I Am the Messenger
- 2013: **Tamora Pierce** for *Song of the Lioness* and the series *Circle of Magic* and *Protector of the Small*.
- 2012: Susan Cooper for The Dark is Rising Sequence: Over Sea, Under Stone, The Dark Is Rising, Greenwitch, The Grey King, and Silver on the Tree.
- 2011: **Terry Prachett** for *The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents; The Wee Free Men; A Hat Full of Sky;* Going Postal; The Colour of Magic; Guards! Guards!; Equal Rites; Mort; and Small Gods
- 2010: **Jim Murphy** for An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793; Blizzard! The Storm That Changed America; The Great Fire; The Long Road to Gettysburg; and A Young Patriot: The American Revolution as Experienced by One Boy.
- 2009: Laurie Halse Anderson for Catalyst, Fever 1793, and Speak.
- 2008: Orson Scott Card for Ender's Game and Ender's Shadow.
- 2007: Lois Lowry for The Giver.
- 2006: Jacqueline Woodson for I Hadn't Meant to Tell You This, Lena, From the Notebooks of Melanin Sun, If You Come Softly and Miracle's Boys.
- 2005: **Francesca Lia Block** for *Weetzie Bat, Witch Baby, Cherokee Bat and the Goat Guys, Missing Angel Juan* and *Baby Be-Bop.*
- 2004: Ursula K. LeGuin for the Earthsea Series, The Left Hand of Darkness, and The Beginning Place.
- 2003: Nancy Garden for Annie on My Mind.
- 2002: **Paul Zindel** for *The Pigman*; *The Pigman's Legacy*; *The Pigman & Me*; *My Darling, My Hamburger*; and *The Effect of Gamma Rays on Man-in-the-Moon Marigolds*.
- 2001: Robert Lipsyte for The Contender; The Brave; The Chief; and One Fat Summer.
- 2000: Chris Crutcher for Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes, Athletic Shorts, Chinese Handcuffs, The Crazy Horse Electric Game, Stotan! and Running Loose.
- 1999: **Anne McCaffrey** for *Dragonflight*, *Dragonquest*, *White Dragon*, *The Ship Who Sang*, and the *Harper Hall* Trilogy.
- 1998: Madeleine L'Engle for The Austin Family Series and the Time Fantasy Series.
- 1997: Gary Paulsen for Hatchet, Woodsong, Winter Room, The Crossing, Canyon, and Dancing Carl.
- 1996: Judy Blume for Forever.

- 1995: **Cynthia Voigt** for *Homecoming*, *Dicey's Song*, *A Solitary Blue*, *Building Blocks*, *The Runner*, *Jackaroo*, and *Izzy Willy Nilly*.
- 1994: Walter Dean Myers for Hoops, Motown and Didi, Fallen Angels, and Scorpions.
- 1993: M.E. Kerr for Dinky Hocker Shoots Smack, Gentlehands, Me Me Me Me Me: Not a Novel, and Night Kites.
- 1992: Lois Duncan for Chapters: My Growth as a Writer, and I Know What you Did Last Summer, Killing Mr. Griffin, Ransom, Summer of Fear, and The Twisted Window.
- 1991: Robert Cormier for The Chocolate War, I Am the Cheese, After the First Death
- 1990: **Richard Peck** for Are You in the House Alone?, Father Figure, The Ghost Belonged to Me, Ghosts I Have Been, Secrets of the Shopping Mall, and Remembering the Good Times.
- 1989: No award given
- 1988: S.E. Hinton for The Outsiders; Rumble Fish; Tex; That Was Then, This Is Now.